Energy Task Force Launched

The Ministry of Energy and Power Development has collaborated with the Africa Clean Energy Technical Assistance Facility in establishing the Distributed Renewable Task Force. (DRETF) an initiative that supports the use of renewable energy in Zimbabwe.

Addressing delegates in Harare today, Minister of Energy and Power Development Zhemu Soda said the initiative will benefit a lot of schools and government institutions.

“All in all 347 primary schools, 56 secondary schools and 10 government institutions will be covered under this upgrade program.” He said.

Minister Soda said this project of renewable energy policy alludes to promoting off grid technology and other energy solutions in the country.

He said all projects will start this year.

Biogas digesters have also been used in improving energy access in decentralized communities.

“From 2015 up to date, 90 institution biogas digesters were constructed at hospitals and boarding schools.” Minister Soda said.

In 2020, Zera licensed 22 renewable energy products with the capacity of more than 700 megawatts.

Also present during the launch was the deputy Minister of Energy and Power Development, Magna Mudyiwa, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Power Development among other dignitaries.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *